Day: November 26, 2021

New COVID-19 variant Omicron is ‘highly transmissible’, Canada unveils new travel restrictions

The World Health Organization has classified the new COVID-19 variant found in South Africa, ‘Omicron’. As concerns grow about the ‘highly transmissible’ variant, the Canadian government has introduced travel restrictions and a ban on foreign nationals coming into the country from seven African countries.

These five measures, which will be in place until Jan. 31, 2022, include:

  • Banning the entry of foreign nationals into Canada who have travelled through seven Southern Africa countries in the last 14 days. These seven countries are South Africa, Mozambique, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini and Namibia.

  • For all individuals who have arrived from the above

Read More